Formatting your screenplay

Storywriter automatically formats your screenplay as you type - you don't need to tell Storywriter what kind of element you want to use. Each element gets formatted when you move to the next line.

The formatting rules are simple:
  • Scene headings start with INT or EXT, with any capitalization.
  • Characters start on their own line with every letter capitalized.
  • Dialogue always starts directly after a character element, unless it's wrapped with a parentheses (in which case it will become a parenthetical).
  • Parentheticals start after a character or dialogue element.
  • Transitions end in colons, but we also match common expressions like FADE OUT.
  • Notes are wrapped in double square brackets, like [[Note]].

You can now add any combination of bold, italic, and underline styling to text in your script. Just highlight a range of text and click the "B", "I", or "U" icon in the header, or use standard keyboard shortcuts.

If you don't see the new formatting options, refresh your browser or close and re-open your Chrome app.

Importing your screenplay

You can import your existing screenplay into Storywriter so you can access your screenplay anywhere and continue working on it in our app. We support importing PDF, FDX, and Fountain formats, and files up to 5MB.

Exporting your screenplay

You can export your screenplay from Storywriter in PDF, FDX, and Fountain formats to share with others or back it up in your own personal storage.

In app

In dashboard

Saving drafts

Storywriter helps you mark your progress and keep different draft versions of your screenplay from cluttering your library.

Accessing your screenplays on multiple devices

Storywriter stores your screenplays securely in Amazons cloud so you can access them anywhere. You can write your screenplays on any computer, and view them on your phone or tablet with an Internet connection. As you write, Storywriter will automatically save your screenplays in the cloud, but you can also manually save with the CTRL-S/CMD-S shortcut.

Writing offline on Chromebooks

To use Amazon Storywriter offline, please install our Chrome App. You will need to be using a Chromebook.

With the Chrome app, you can download your screenplays from the cloud to your computer and work on them - whether you're online or offline.

Downloading a screenplay to your computer

Once a screenplay is downloaded to your computer, click the "sync" button after making changes to ensure your work is synced with the cloud. Syncing means your scripts are always backed up and the latest version will be available across devices.

Syncing a modified screenplay to the cloud

Syncing a new screenplay to the cloud

Conflict Resolution

If you make changes to a script on more than one computer without syncing first, you'll see a "Resolve" button in the Chrome app. Clicking it will save each changed script as a separate version, so you don't lose any work. Storywriter will never try to "merge" changes for you, or overwrite versions of your script while syncing.

Resolving a screenplay conflict between your computer and the cloud

Submitting your screenplay to Amazon Studios

Amazon Studios is looking for movie and series ideas to turn into great entertainment, and has an open door for every talented creator. You can submit your finished movie or TV script to Amazon Studios from directly within Amazon Storywriter by selecting "Submit to Amazon Studios" from the drop-down menu on the right side of any script or draft. You will need to fill out details about your submission on the Amazon Studios site.

Learn more about the Amazon Studios process on our site at https://studios.amazon.com.

Sharing your screenplay

You can share your screenplay in Storywriter with trusted readers, and they'll be able to read your drafts right within the app. Scripts look great on any screen size, so there's no longer a need to pinch and zoom PDFs to easily read scripts.

Sharing a draft

Removing access to a draft

If you no longer want a reader to be able to view your draft, you can remove their access at any time, which will prevent them from seeing the draft in their Storywriter dashboard.

Viewing your connections

Your profile page shows a list of everyone you've shared a draft with, and those who have shared drafts with you.